Blog

State laws requiring a defensive driving course discount

Which states make insurers discount premiums after an approved course, who qualifies, how long it lasts, and where the discount is only a voluntary perk.

A handful of states, including New York, Florida, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia and New Jersey, have laws or regulations that force insurers to give a premium reduction when a driver completes an approved defensive driving course. Most of those laws are narrower than drivers assume: many apply only at age 55 and older, many leave the percentage to the insurer, and most of the texts reviewed here exclude courses a judge ordered. In other states, Texas among them, the discount is a company choice and no law obliges anyone to offer it.

That difference matters because a mandated discount is something you can claim, while a voluntary one is something you can only ask about. The sections below compare how the mandates are built, what they pay, and how to avoid spending a Saturday in a classroom for a discount you will not receive. The state details are as of November 2026, and statutes and regulations change, so confirm the current text with your state's insurance regulator before you enroll.

Mandated versus voluntary: what the difference means

A mandated discount exists when a statute or regulation says that insurers' rates, rating plans or rating manuals must include a reduction for people who complete an approved course. The insurer still files rates with the regulator, but the filing has to contain the credit. If you meet the conditions, you are entitled to it, and a refusal is something the state insurance department will look at if you complain.

A voluntary discount is a rating factor the insurer chose to build in. It can be generous or stingy, can change at the next rate filing, and can be withdrawn entirely. Nothing in the law gives you a right to it.

A third category sits between the two. Some states do not require insurers to give the discount, but they require the regulator to allow it, so an insurer cannot be told that the discount is unfairly discriminatory. Louisiana is built this way, and it is covered below. The result for the driver is closer to a voluntary discount than to a mandated one.

The Texas Department of Insurance put the voluntary side bluntly in a February 2025 consumer warning about social media ads that hint at required discounts for older drivers or low-mileage drivers. Insurance Commissioner Cassie Brown said that no state law or rule mandates discounts or puts a time limit on them, and that claims otherwise are misleading. That does not mean no Texas insurer gives a course credit; it means each one that does sets its own terms. The practical lesson applies everywhere: an ad that says "state law requires this discount" should be checked against your own state's statute.

How the mandates in six states differ

The table summarizes what each state's own legal text or official page says, as of November 2026. "Insurer-set" means the law requires a reduction but does not fix its size.

State Who qualifies Size Duration Coverages affected
New York Principal operator of any age who completes a DMV-approved course 10% of the base rate 3 years Liability and collision
Florida Principal operator age 55+ Insurer-set ("appropriate reduction") 3 years Liability, PIP and collision
Delaware Driver who customarily operates the vehicle, any age 10%, or 15% after a timely refresher 3 years Bodily injury, property damage and PIP
Pennsylvania Drivers age 55+ 5%, per PennDOT Refresher every 3 years to keep it Vehicle insurance; details per insurer
Virginia Age 55+ (required); age 54 and under (permitted) Insurer-set 3 years (55+); 2 years (54 and under) Motor vehicle insurance generally
New Jersey Drivers completing an MVC-approved course Not stated on the official pages reviewed Not stated on the official pages reviewed Insurer's filed plan

California and Louisiana do not fit the table neatly and are discussed separately. Each row is expanded below.

New York: any age, 10%, three years

New York's program is the most generous and the simplest. The state DMV runs the Point and Insurance Reduction Program, known as PIRP. The DMV's page says completing an approved course will reduce the base rates of your auto and motorcycle insurance premiums by 10% each year for three years, and that you must retake the course once every 36 months to keep the reduction.

The details that decide whether you actually get the discount:

  • Principal operator only. If more than one person named on a policy takes the course, only the principal operator receives the 10% reduction.
  • Young and assigned-risk drivers qualify. The DMV says youthful drivers and drivers in the assigned risk pool receive the discount, and that an insured principal operator of any age who completes a course gets the reduction.
  • Present the certificate quickly. If you give your insurer the certificate within 90 days of completing the course, the reduction starts immediately and is retroactive to the completion date. After 90 days, the insurer may start it on the date you present the certificate, so a late certificate costs real money.
  • It does not buy forgiveness. The DMV is explicit that the course does not prevent general premium increases or increases caused by violations or crashes.

The course is 320 minutes of classroom instruction, according to the DMV page, and it can be taken in a classroom, online or by other approved methods. Providers set their own fees. For New York residents, see also the state profile for New York.

Florida: 55 and older, with a conduct condition

Florida's statute reads like a model for the age-based type. Section 627.0652 requires that rating schedules for liability, personal injury protection and collision coverage provide an appropriate reduction in premium charges when the principal operator is an insured age 55 or older who has completed a motor vehicle accident prevention course approved by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Key features, taken from the statute's text:

  • Three-year period. The reduction lasts three years after successful completion.
  • Insurers may attach conditions. An insurer may require, as a condition of keeping the discount, that the insured have no at-fault accident and no moving violation conviction (or guilty or no-contest plea) during the period.
  • No set percentage. Any discount an insurer uses is presumed appropriate unless credible data shows otherwise, so the size is the insurer's call.
  • Court-ordered courses are excluded. The section does not apply if the course is taken as punishment ordered by a court or other governmental entity for a moving violation.
  • Certificate and test. The course must include a written test, and the organization offering it issues a certificate that you give the insurer.

A Florida driver under 55 has no statutory claim. Whether you get anything is up to the insurer. See Florida for the state guide.

Delaware: a regulation with the most detailed formula

Delaware sets its discount by regulation rather than statute. The Insurance Department's Regulation 607, published in the state's administrative code, provides that a 10% discount applies to the premiums for bodily injury liability, property damage liability and personal injury protection when the driver who customarily operates the vehicle has a certificate showing voluntary completion of an approved course within the last 36 months. The version of the text reviewed carries a March 11, 2015 effective date.

Three features make Delaware different:

  1. Household fractions. The 10% applies in full only if every operator named on the policy completes the course. If fewer do, the discount is the share of operators who finished, times 10%.
  2. A refresher bonus. An insured who completes a refresher course within the 180 days before the three-year expiration receives a 15% discount from the next renewal date.
  3. Certificate is conclusive. A course-completion certificate is conclusive evidence of eligibility, and insurers may not demand other documentation or prior certificates.

Insurers must also give notice at the renewal before the discount expires, telling the policyholder that a refresher is needed. Note that the regulation covers liability and PIP, not collision, so the dollar base is smaller than in New York. See Delaware.

Pennsylvania: a 55-plus mature driver discount

Pennsylvania's program is run by the Department of Transportation and aimed at older drivers. PennDOT's mature driver page says that under Pennsylvania law, drivers 55 and older are eligible for a 5 percent discount on their vehicle insurance by completing the Basic Mature Driver Improvement Course, and that to maintain it they must take the Refresher course every three years. PennDOT also tells drivers to check with their carrier for the specifics of its program. See Pennsylvania.

Virginia: required at 55, optional below

Virginia splits the field by age in a single section. Under Va. Code 38.2-2217, rating plans filed with the State Corporation Commission must provide an appropriate reduction for insured persons age 55 and older who voluntarily complete a DMV-approved mature driver crash prevention course. The reduction lasts three years, a self-instructed course does not qualify, and a person assigned by a court is ineligible.

For insureds age 54 and younger, the same section says rating plans may provide a two-year reduction for completing a DMV-approved driver improvement clinic, again excluding anyone assigned by a court or notified by the DMV to attend. Participants must take a new course every three years (mature course) or every two years (clinic) to stay eligible. The statute also says nothing prevents an insurer from offering lower rates based on age alone. See Virginia.

New Jersey: required, but check the numbers

The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance's 2026 Auto Insurance Shopping Guide states that New Jersey law requires insurers to offer discounts for drivers who have completed a defensive driving course approved by the Motor Vehicle Commission. The guide does not give a percentage or duration, and the Motor Vehicle Commission's driver programs page says only that you "may also qualify for an insurance rate reduction" and to ask your agent. Because I could not confirm the amount from an official source, this article does not state one. Ask your insurer for the filed percentage and period in writing. See New Jersey.

The odd ones out: California and Louisiana

California has a mature-driver statute, Insurance Code 11628.3, covering principal operators age 55 and older who complete a DMV-approved mature driver improvement course, with a three-year benefit. California also regulates prices through prior approval, so a course credit is only one adjustment inside a tightly controlled formula, and the percentage is set in the insurer's approved filing. See California.

Louisiana takes the "authorize rather than require" route. R.S. 22:1457 says the commissioner shall authorize a rate reduction of up to ten percent, if actuarially justified, on liability and physical damage insurance where the insured and principal operator, regardless of age, present certification of a National Safety Council course or a course approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. Several limits apply:

  • The credit does not apply to experience-rated or assigned-risk policies, policies already getting a driver education discount, policies carrying a substandard risk surcharge, or anyone whose enrollment came from a court order.
  • It applies to new and renewal policies effective within 36 months after completion.
  • If an automobile is used by multiple drivers, the reduction is not authorized unless all of them complete the course.

A separate subsection authorizes an actuarially justified reduction, as determined by the carrier, for bodily injury, property damage and collision coverage where the named insured and principal operator are 55 or older and have completed an approved course; with several drivers, all must be 55 or older and have completed it. See Louisiana.

Points on your license are a different benefit

Courses often do two separate things, and the rules for each are unrelated. A premium discount comes from the insurer. A point reduction comes from the motor vehicle agency, and it does not lower anything an insurer has already surcharged.

  • New York: completing PIRP reduces active points by up to four for the purpose of calculating a suspension. The DMV's page says point reduction applies only to points from violations in the 18 months before the course, and that the tickets and points do not come off your driving record.
  • New Jersey: the Motor Vehicle Commission says a defensive driving course may remove two points, only once every five years and only if you have points on your record when you finish.
  • Georgia: the Department of Driver Services says licensed Georgia residents may ask it to reduce points under O.C.G.A. 40-5-86, up to seven points once every five years. For the insurance side, the department tells drivers to check with their insurer and to refer to O.C.G.A. 33-9-42.

A point reduction can help you keep a license. It rarely erases a surcharge that is already on your policy. For how points and surcharges interact, see points on your license and your insurance.

A worked example: what a three-year benefit is worth

Take a hypothetical New York principal operator whose premium for liability and collision coverage comes to $1,400 a year. These figures are made up to show the arithmetic, not market data.

  1. A 10% reduction on that base is $140 a year.
  2. Over the three-year period that is $420, assuming the rate does not move.
  3. Subtract a course fee. Say the provider charges $45 (providers set their own fees, so check yours). The net benefit is $375.
  4. Subtract your time. A 320-minute course is about five and a third hours, so the net benefit works out to roughly $70 for each hour in the classroom, before counting any point reduction.

Now suppose the same driver waits 100 days to give the certificate to the insurer. Because the DMV says the insurer may start the reduction on the date the certificate is presented after 90 days, the driver loses roughly the first 100 days of the discount, about $38 on these numbers. The lesson is to hand over the certificate the week you get it.

A Delaware version shows how the household formula bites. Say two operators are named on a policy whose bodily injury, property damage and PIP premium is $1,000 a year. If one finishes a course, the discount is one-half of 10%, or 5%: $50 a year. If both finish, it is 10%: $100 a year. If both later take a refresher within the 180-day window before expiry, it becomes 15%: $150 a year. Over three years, the all-operators route is worth $300 at 10% versus $150 when only one operator takes the course.

Compare that with a voluntary-discount state, where the same course might earn 5%, 10% or nothing. The savings are only real if you have the number in writing before paying the course fee.

How to verify before you enroll: a six-step check

  1. Find your state's legal basis. Search the state's insurance code for "accident prevention course", "defensive driving" or "driver improvement". The regulator's consumer pages usually summarize it. The state car insurance requirements lookup tool is a starting point for your state's rules.
  2. Confirm the course is approved by the right agency. Statutes name the approving body: a motor vehicle department, a public safety department, or a named national program. A course that is not on the approved list earns nothing, even if it is on a certificate.
  3. Ask the insurer five questions. What percentage? Which coverages? For how many years? Does it apply to every driver or only the principal operator? Does an at-fault accident or ticket end it early?
  4. Check age limits. A mature driver program applies from age 55 in Florida, Pennsylvania and Virginia. Younger drivers are covered only where the statute is not age-based, as in New York or Delaware.
  5. Do not take a court-ordered course for the discount. Florida, Virginia and Louisiana exclude them, and Delaware's regulation covers only voluntary attendance. If a judge ordered the course, assume it earns nothing and ask.
  6. Calendar the expiry. Most mandated discounts end after three years, though Virginia's clinic discount ends after two. Set a reminder about 150 days before expiry, which in Delaware is also the start of the refresher window.

What the mandates do not do

Statutory discounts have limits that surprise drivers.

  • They are not points forgiveness. The surcharge for a ticket or at-fault crash is a separate rating action.
  • They do not stack without limit. Insurers cap combined credits, and some discounts are mutually exclusive, such as a driver education credit and a course credit in Louisiana. See Do car insurance discounts stack? How they combine and cap for the mechanics.
  • They can be lost. Florida lets insurers end the discount after an at-fault accident or a moving violation conviction. Other states let insurers attach similar conditions.
  • They apply to specific coverages. In Delaware the base is bodily injury, property damage and PIP. Collision is not on that list. A driver who carries only minimum liability gets a smaller dollar benefit than one who carries full coverage.
  • They do not bind the next insurer. If you switch companies mid-period, you carry the certificate, not the discount. The new insurer must apply the state's rule, but check the effective date and ask for proof on the quote.

If your insurer removes a discount you believe the law requires, the sensible steps are to ask for the filed rule in writing, then contact the state insurance department. For specific legal questions, a licensed attorney or the department is the place to ask; the department can tell you whether a refusal is consistent with your state's rules. See proving a discount: what insurers ask for and why they remove it for the documents insurers usually ask for.

Common questions

Is a defensive driving course worth taking if my state does not mandate a discount?

Sometimes. Many insurers in voluntary states still offer a course credit, and the course may also reduce points, which can matter if you are near a suspension threshold. The risk is paying for a course before you know the discount. Call the insurer, ask for the percentage and years in writing, and compare it with the fee. If you only plan to shop around soon, remember that another insurer may not honor the credit at all.

Can I take the same course twice to renew the discount?

Usually you retake a course at the end of the period, which is why most statutes mention a refresher. Delaware's regulation expressly rewards a refresher completed within 180 days before the old discount expires. New York requires a course every 36 months to maintain the benefit. Pennsylvania's mature driver program uses a Refresher course every three years. Rules on how soon you may repeat a course for point reduction differ from the insurance rules (New Jersey allows a two-point reduction once every five years), so check both.

Does an online course count?

It depends on the state and the course. New York's DMV page says a course may be taken in a classroom, online or through other delivery methods if the course is approved. Virginia's statute allows a classroom-approved sponsor to also deliver the course through a secure computer-based medium that the DMV approves, but excludes self-instructed courses that do not provide actual classroom instruction. Always confirm that the exact course title appears on the agency's approved list.

Do all drivers on the policy need to take the course?

Not always, but it can change the size. Delaware pro-rates by the number of operators who finish. Louisiana's general discount is not authorized on a vehicle used by several drivers unless all complete the course. New York gives the discount to the principal operator only, even if others complete it. Ask the insurer who is counted as the principal operator and whether other drivers' certificates add anything.

Will a defensive driving course reduce a premium that already went up after a ticket?

Not by itself. New York's DMV states the course does not prevent premium increases due to violations or crashes. The course discount is applied on top of whatever the rate is, so you still benefit from the percentage, but the surcharge remains until it ages off under the insurer's rules.

Key takeaways

  • A few states require the discount (New York, Florida for drivers 55 and older, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and New Jersey per the state's shopping guide); others, including Texas, leave it to each insurer.
  • Mandated discounts differ in who qualifies, what the percentage is, how long it lasts, and which coverages it touches. New York is 10% for three years at any age; Delaware is 10% or 15% with household fractions.
  • Courses ordered by a court are excluded almost everywhere, and a point reduction from the motor vehicle agency is a separate benefit from the premium discount.
  • Give your insurer the certificate fast. In New York, waiting more than 90 days can cost the retroactive portion of the discount.
  • Before you pay for a course, get the percentage, coverages and duration in writing from your insurer, and confirm the current rule with your state's insurance department.

Terms used in this guide

Related states

Related guides

Related tools

Latest on this topic